Modifying logging levels

These are the logging levels available in DataCleaner and Log4j, order by priority (highest priority first):

  1. error
  2. warn
  3. info
  4. debug
  5. trace

Typically the bottom-two logging levels (debug and trace) are not used unless unexpected situations has to be investigated by developers.

Modifying the logging levels can be done either globally or in a hierarchical manner:

  1. If you change the <priority> element's value attribute, you change the global threshold for logging messages.

  2. If you change the <logger> element's level, you change the logging priority logging messages that pertain to a particular hierarchy of loggers.